Periyakulam Zameen is 500 years old and it was established in 1484 AD. The current Jamindar is Machi Ramabadragaru. Balasubramanian Temple lies in the Periyakulam - Sothuparai Road, about 2 km from Periyakulam Bus Stand. It is dated back to hundreds of years. Thirumoolar, a Tamil Sitthar, wrote about this temple. Near the temple, are two "Marutha Marams" - each one on the northern and southern banks of River Varaganadhi. (One Male and one Female). The Moolavar of this temple is Raja Raja Soleeswarar and his Devi is Aram Valartha Nayagi. However, the temple is named after Muruga. This temple has three kodimarams. Durga Devi, Kannimoola Ganapathi, and Bairavar are other important Deities here.
Multi-Languages Speaking Driver as Guide, Backup vehicle